6a architects nominated for European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture

We are absolutely delighted that 6a, architects and design team leaders for the MK Gallery Expansion project, have been nominated not once but twice for the 2015 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, also known as the Mies Van der Rohe Award. Nominations have been given to the firm for their designs for the Paul Smith store façade and Tree House, and they sit alongside 19 other nominations from the UK, including Zaha Hadid’s Aquatics Centre for the London Olympics and the Stirling Prize-winning Everyman Theatre in Liverpool by Haworth Tompkins.

The Mies Van der Rohe Award was established in 1983 by the European Union, the European Commission, the European Parliament and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe in Barcelona. The €60,000 award is one of the most prestigious and important awards for European architecture and is awarded biennially. The prize has two key objectives: to recognise and commend excellence, and to draw attention to important contributions to European architecture.

The full list of nominess can be viewed here.


dezeen_Tree-House-by-6a-Architects_ss_5  paulsmith

Above, from L-R: Tree House and Paul Smith Store Facade by 6a Architects

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s